Engage

Fellowship


In an age of virtual community and a time when most people are overextended, sharing in fellowship matters even more than before. The following opportunities for fellowship are fertile ground for you to know others and be known by them.
For more information on any of these opportunities, contact the Rev. Erin Hensley at 343-9341, x3032 or ehensley@stjohnsroanoke.org.

Celebration Arts coordinates decorations, music, food, and games for four parish wide events. Email Ms. Lee Woody at lhwoody@yahoo.com.

Common Ground hosts events, like an in-house pub quiz night with trivia, for parishioners ages 21 and over. Email Ms. Lillian Meidlinger at lj@meidlinger.org.

Episcopal Church Women (ECW), Chapter 9 meets on the first Tues-day of each month, September through May, with the exception of January, for dinner and a program. Email Ms. Joan Niederlehner at jjnieder@comcast.net.

Foyer Groups are small supper groups that meet four times in one semester. Members take turns hosting and meet at times that suit their sched-ules. Email Ms. Karen Strickland at kstrickland@waldron.com.

The Greystone Writers’ Group meets weekly on Thursdays at 10:00 a.m. in the library to offer a supportive context for assessing one another’s fic-tion or non-fiction works. Depending upon interest and schedules, a sec-ond writers’ group may be formed. Email Mr. Joe Maxwell at joeandbethmaxwell@gmail.com

The History and Archives Committee oversees the record keeping of events, materials, memorials, etc. for historical purposes. Email Ms. Mary Field Green at mfieldgreen@aol.com.

Newcomer Incorporation Team (NIT) members shepherd parishioners, especially newcomers, to help them find their way in such a large parish. Email the Rev. Erin Hensley at ehensley@stjohnsroanoke.org.

Newcomers Receptions help newcomers meet St. John’s staff and lay leaders. Email the Rev. Erin Hensley at ehensley@stjohnsroanoke.org.

The St. John’s Book Club meets on the first Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the fourth floor conference room. The group discusses both fiction and non-fiction. Email the Rev. Mary Mackin at mmackin@stjohnsroanoke.org.

Welcoming Committee members serve as greeters, cook food for new-comers receptions, and write follow-up notes to newcomers. Email Ms. Kathy Clemo at kclemo54@gmail.com or Ms. Sally Moulse at smoulse@cox.net.