Upcoming Events


Click here for Calendars.

Office Volunteers Needed!
We’re looking for folks to help out in St. John’s offices during the week, answering phones, helping with mailings and projects and being a friendly face for our visitors. Volunteers work in four-hour windows on weekdays, 8:30-12:30 or 12:30-4:30. If you’re interested, contact Lisa Cayse (lcayse@stjohnsroanoke.org) or Kristi Brown (kbrown@stjohnsroanoke.org) via e-mail or by calling the church offices, 540-343-9341.


 
20s/30s Get Together
July 17, 6-7:30 p.m.
Join other young adults from St. John’s for a beverage and light appetizers at The Rev. Whitney Burton’s home. Wednesday, July 17. Drop by anytime between 6:00 and 7:30!  1710 Westover Ave. SW.  Contact wburton@stjohnsroanoke.org for more info.



Game Night
August 1, 6 p.m. (Childcare available)
You’re never too old for board games. Enjoy an evening with friends at St. John’s – if you have kids, drop them off in the Child Care Center and come play!


 
Bricks 4 Kidz Lego Night
Ages 4 and up;  August 10, 6-8:30 p.m.
 
Cost is $10. Maximum of $20 per family; dinner is provided! Childcare available for ages 0-3.
Contact Christine Mortlock at cmortlock@stjohnsroanoke.org




Annual Parish Picnic at Fishburn Park
August 18, 12 p.m.
One last hurrah before school starts up again – dress casual for church and come to Fishburn Park after the 10 a.m. service – bring a side dish or dessert, lawn chairs, blankets and sunscreen!


Fine Wines
St. John’s group for retirees and 60-plus
 
August 18 
Garth Newel Music Center in Bath County
The Reverend Mary Mackin, 
mmackin@stjohnsroanoke.org

 
Youth Events
    
Middle School Mission Trip
July 14-18 at the Trinity Center in Salter Path, N.C.
High School Mission Trip
July 21-27 in Wilmington, N.C. (post-hurricane recovery) 
Red Sox Baseball Night
August 2, 6:30 p.m. carpool from St. John’s or meet at stadium at 6:50
Pool Party and Cookout
August 25, 5:45 p.m. carpool from St. John’s 
or meet at Milams’ at 6 p.m.; 8 p.m. pickup at Milams’ 
Tray Light at tlight@stjohnsroanoke.org
 


 
St. John's Book Club, 6:30 p.m.
September 5: Spying on the South by Tony Horwitz
October 3: The Guest Book by Sarah Blake 
November 7: Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams



St. John’s Celebration Sunday
September 8

Click here for Calendars.